India on the Horizon

I am less than two weeks away from doing that whole India thing I’ve been telling everybody about. Visas are in the mail back, plane tickets are bought, funds are mostly raised (although I/we could still use some financial support!), and, well, it is starting to get real.

It dawns on me that although I have traveled more in the past two years than I have my entire life, I haven’t been to the “developing world” (if one doesn’t count hurricane-stricken New Orleans) since my junior year of high school. Am I ready to see such poverty again?

It dawns on me that I am going on a trip centered around the idea of touch. Yet anyone who knows me knows I am not a touchy-feely kind on person. Am I ready to wash the feet of strangers?

It dawns on me that I don’t do well with spicy food. I studied abroad in Sweden for a reason. Am I ready for fine Indian cuisine?

Pray for me, and us.

If you have some extra change, donations are also kindly accepted.

India on the Horizon

Talkback, please:

