Freeing the Bible from bird cages

I haven’t been publishing much on this blog recently. Many reasons for that, one of which is that I’ve been in a season where the desire to read > the desire to write. Here’s a review, cross-posted from Amazon.com, of one of the books I recently completed.

Consider the Birds: A Provocative Guide to Birds of the Bible by Debbie Blue

Admittedly, I got this book to fulfill a somewhat goofy curiosity. I work as the youth minister for an evangelical church in Chicago’s Ravenswood neighborhood. As part of a desire to give my students some sort of group identity, I have been using the images of a raven (see what I did there?). When I saw that the final chapter of Blue’s book would be devoted entirely to the raven, I could not help but buy the book, hoping to see if there was any biblical significance to this symbol I had already been using.

I restrained myself from skipping to the end, reading the whole book one bird (one chapter) at a time. Each of the ten chapters could stand on their own as a self-contained read, although there are also some obvious bird pairs (pigeon-dove and raven, vulture and eagle, cock and hen). The chapters could best be described as “meditations” on each bird, composed almost entirely of the seemingly irrelevant tangents stereotypically associated with liberal arts professors, but masterfully arranged into a sort of full circle under Blue’s artful writing. I often read single chapters as a sort of “morning devotional”, and over the couple of weeks I was reading the book I couldn’t help but discuss some of the more interesting bits at staff meetings or with friends.

Blue’s discussion of the birds overturns common understandings of familiar Bible passages, as the subtitle “a provocative guide” suggests. One way Blue achieves this is through combing over the original Greek and Hebrew (for example, “dove” may be better translated as “pigeon”, while “eagle” may be better translated as “vulture”). Furthermore, Blue also combines historical research with some of her own bird-watching to uncover possible connotations different birds may have carried to the original biblical authors or the historical Christian church, the sort of connotations that modern western Christians may not pick up on reading the next.

I would not recommend this book as an introduction to the Bible or as a guide to Christian living, as it does not address major Biblical themes or even many basic concepts (e.g. salvation, community, etc.). For example, I am not going to be using this book with any of my youth (except for, of course, relevant portions of the raven chapter). Rather, I would recommend this book for someone who has grown familiar with the Bible, and perhaps is either a little bored with Scripture or has grown rigid in their interpretation of the text. For many of us, Blue’s book serves as a reminder that we are not called to put the Bible in (metaphorical) bird cages, but rather be bird watchers as God’s revelation to the world continually shows up and surprises us anew.

(A good complementary read for Consider the Birds would be Scot McKnight’s The Blue Parakeet: Rethinking How You Read the Bible, as both books deal with fresh yet faithful understandings of Scripture, and of course have birds as a symbolic connection).

View Consider the Birds: A Subversive Guide to the Birds of the Bible on Amazon.com

Freeing the Bible from bird cages

Talkback, please:

